China covers a land area of 9.6 million square kilometers and currently consists of four municipalities (Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin and Chongqing), 23 provinces, five autonomous regions (Tibet, Xinjiang, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, and Guangxi) directly under the Central Government, and two special administrative regions (Hong Kong and Macau).

Weather

China spans over a vast geographic area. Local weather varies considerably from one location to another. Latest weather information of different regions can be found at the website of China Meteorological Administration: http://www.cma.gov.cn/en/

Currency

China's official currency is Renminbi (RMB), commonly known as Yuan. Paper bill includes 1, 5, 10, 20, 50,100 Yuan and 1, 2, 5 Jiao, and coins include 1, 5 Jiao and 1 Yuan. Currency exchange service is available at Beijing Capital International Airport, banks and major hotels.

Besides cash, banking service is also available for Hong Kong residents living in China. In general, basic documents required for opening bank accounts include, but are not limited to, the following:

  1. Identification Document, e.g. passport, Mainland Travel Permit for Hong Kong and Macao resident (commonly known as "Home Visit Permit")
  2. Statement with residential address

Please check with specific banks for detailed application process and related information if necessary.

Voltage

As with most other countries, China adopts the metric measurement system. Household voltage is 220 volts in the Mainland, which is the same as Hong Kong. No voltage conversion is needed if travelers want to use electrical appliance purchased from Hong Kong. However, the power plug is different from those commonly used in Hong Kong and thus a plug adapter may be required. The typical shapes of power plugs in the Mainland are shown in the pictures below.

3-legged power plug in China 2-legged power plug in China

Transportation

Overview

All automotive vehicles, non-automotive vehicles and pedestrians should keep to the right side of the road in the Mainland, which differs from the practice of keeping to the left in Hong Kong.

Besides, the traffic rules also differ. In the Mainland, vehicles may take right turn even if the red light is on, but this would only be applicable where no disturbance is made to cars or pedestrians passing by (however, if the red light signaling right turn is an arrow instead of a round shape, vehicles would be prohibited from taking the right turn until the light turns green). In Hong Kong, on the other hand, no vehicles may take the right turn whenever the red light is on.

Pedestrians and drivers of automotive vehicles and non-automotive vehicles should observe all traffic rules applicable in the Mainland.

Driving License and buying vehicles

Driving License

Hong Kong residents are required to obtain valid driving licenses if they wish to drive in the Mainland. Drivers should carry their driving licenses while driving. Hong Kong residents who meet relevant conditions promulgated by the Ministry of Public Security (including requirements in age and physical and other conditions, etc.) could apply for driving licenses from traffic management departments.

Hong Kong residents who hold driving licenses issued by relevant authorities of Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan or other foreign countries could apply for Chinese driving licenses after meeting certain requirements by the Ministry of Public Security (including age, physical and other conditions) and passing the corresponding examination. Moreover, Hong Kong residents who have overseas driving licenses can apply for temporary driving permission from traffic management department of the Ministry of Public Security if they need to drive in the Mainland for a period not exceeding three months.

中国幅员辽阔,陆地面积约960万平方公里,目前的行政区划为:4个直辖市(北京、上海、天津和重庆),23个省,5个自治区(西藏自治区、新疆维吾尔自治区、内蒙古自治区、宁夏回族自治区和广西壮族自治区),2个特别行政区(香港和澳门特别行政区)。

气候

中国地域辽阔,各地气候各有特色,差异甚大。如希望了解各地的最新天气情况,可参阅中国气象局网站:http://www.cma.gov.cn

货币

内地的官方货币为人民币。目前在外流通的纸币面值有1、5、10、20、50、100元及1、2、5角,硬币面值有1角、5角和1元。北京首都国际机场和酒店均提供货币兑换服务。此外,大型银行的各个分行也可以进行货币兑换。

港人在内地生活,除了备有现金外,也可以在内地银行开立个人帐户,并可以申请办理网上银行服务。开立个人银行帐户,一般需要向银行提供以下资料/文件:

  1. 个人身份证件,如护照、港澳居民来往内地通行证(即回乡证)等
  2. 居住地址证明

如有需要,请向各银行查询开立个人帐户的手续和详情。

电压

内地采用公制度量衡,与世界上多数国家一致。

内地的生活用电电压为220伏,与香港相同。因此,在香港购买的电器在内地使用无需转换电压。但须注意的是,内地惯用的电源插头形状与香港不同,在内地使用在香港购买的电器需要使用插头形状转换器。内地惯用的电源插头形状如下图所示:

交通

概述

内地机动车、非机动车及行人均实行右侧通行;这与香港采用的“左行制”不同。

两地信号灯的通行规则也略有差异。在内地红灯亮时,右转弯的车辆在不妨碍被放行的车辆、行人通行的情况下,可以通行(但如果红灯不是圆的,而是箭头时,表明红灯亮时,右转弯的车辆不得通行)。在香港红灯亮时,车辆一律不得通行。

在内地各省市驾驶机动车、非机动车及行人,应遵守内地交通规则。

驾驶证与购车

驾驶证

香港居民在内地驾驶机动车,应当依法取得机动车驾驶证。驾驶机动车时,应当随身携带机动车驾驶证。符合国务院公安部门规定的驾驶许可条件(包括年龄、身体条件等)的香港居民,可向公安机关交通管理部门申请机动车驾驶证。

持外国、中国香港、澳门、台湾地区核发的机动车驾驶证的香港居民,符合国务院公安部门规定的驾驶许可条件(包括年龄条件、身体条件等),经公安机关交通管理部门考核合格的,可以发给内地机动车驾驶证。另外,持有境外机动车驾驶证,需临时(即不超过三个月)进入中国内地驾驶机动车的香港居民,可向公安机关交通管理部门申请临时机动车驾驶许可。