The Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Guangdong (GDETO) of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) was set up in July 2002. It is one of the five offices set up in the Mainland to foster closer links between HKSAR and the Mainland.


The Guangdong Province, particularly the Pearl River Delta (PRD), has long been Hong Kong's economic hinterland and the closest business and trading partner. It is home to the largest number of Hong Kong companies operating outside Hong Kong and it is the main destination of Hong Kong's outward investments. Economically, the PRD and Hong Kong have complemented each other's development.

As the major gateway to the Mainland, Hong Kong is well positioned to capitalise on the business and trade opportunities in the PRD arising from China's accession to the World Trade Organisation. It will be timely and of mutual benefit for Hong Kong and Guangdong to strengthen their economic co-operation and forge closer business links between the two places.

Upon the approval of the State Council, the GDETO was established in July 2002 focusing on economic and trade affairs. The objective of its establishment is to enhance economic co-operation between Hong Kong and the Guangdong Province, strengthen business and trade links between the two sides, promote investments to Hong Kong or through Hong Kong to the world, and provide better support for Hong Kong businessmen with operations in Guangdong. Apart from maintaining close contact with local governments, the Office also steps up communication between Hong Kong businessmen and relevant commerce and trade departments within the Province, with a view to promoting mutual understanding and resolving problems generally affecting these businessmen.

To further enhance links between Hong Kong and the Southern China Region, the HKSAR Government decided to expand the service boundary of GDETO to cover five provinces/region (Fujian, Jiangxi, Guangdong, Guangxi and Hainan) with effect from April 2006. Following the establishment of the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Wuhan in April 2014, GDETO’s coverage has been revised to cover Fujian, Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan and Yunnan.

GDETO has also set up an immigration team to provide practical assistance to Hong Kong residents in distress in the five provinces/region.

With a view to strengthening and deepening the liaison and co-operation with Shenzhen, Fujian and Guangxi, the HKSAR Government subsequently set up the Shenzhen Liaison Unit, Fujian Liaison Unit and Guangxi Liaison Unit under the GDETO in Shenzhen, Fuzhou, and Nanning in December 2010, February 2012 and April 2017 respectively.